Home > General > Restoring Antique Furniture

Restoring Antique Furniture


I’ve been working on an X shaped bar for several months now. The whole project was an evolution of ideas, starting with the desire for a more open space. I wanted to rip out the wall between my kitchen and my living room, and replace the structural support the wall provided with a central pillar. After kicking around some ideas about the best way to implement the idea, I settled on an X shape to hold the weight of the roof, with a hollowed out top portion that would become my new kitchen table. What a great way to save space by combining a wall and a table !

The project has taken quite a bit of motivation to complete, but now that I’ve finished all of the wiring, lighting, flooring, trim and bar stools, it’s time to move onto new projects.

 

My family has had this white bench as far back into my memory as I can dig. It used to be a brilliant white, with a fresh looking blue cover, rounded out with small studs to hold the blue fabric in place. The white paint faded long ago, and with chipping it looked pretty worn out. The fabric too succumbed to the passing of time, and the bench found itself in storage, left to the first passerby who would give it a home. So one day I did just that and took it home.

It didn’t take long for the bench to become a sticking point in my concentration. Like so many other things, I became obsessed with how it could be improved. I decided that this bench would look so much crisper if the wood grain was exposed, so I began collecting the tools needed to refresh it. [ Continue Reading at http://itfarmersblog.com/?p=2712 ]

Categories: General
  1. December 11, 2012 at 6:27 am

    It’s looking good quality furniture I like your post thanks for sharing this types of furniture with us.

  2. December 27, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Wow… this is a great collection of antique furniture.. Actually anyone would really be happy if he is in the possession of such beautiful antique furniture.. You can get such antiique furniture like wall mirrors at this site which I recently found on the internet..

    Hope you enjoy visiting this site..

  3. January 14, 2013 at 5:43 am

    This’d look great antiqued and reupholstered in possibly a deep/royal blue.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment