Home > Building and Construction, Chickens, Tomatoes > Chicken Coop Plans

Chicken Coop Plans


Chicken Coop Plan

Chicken Coop Plan

I finally found the time to plot out my chicken coop design. I’d like to have a second story for storage, but I might not have that much room available. When I originally decided on the placement of the coop, I accidentally choose a location underneath a power line. I’ve measured the height of the cable, and I have at least 16 feet of clearance below the cable, but I’m still a bit concerned. I may need to revise my plan for safety’s sake.

The lower floor will be constructed with standard 2 x 4 construction, with 2 x 6 rafters as the base of the second story floor. I’ll then build the roof in a Cambrel style, with 5 feet 6 inches of clearance. This will allow me to walk nearly upright, without placing the roof too close to the power line above.

To really maximize space, I’m considering a “spiral-ish” staircase that will only use up a 4 x 4 foot area. A ladder would be unsafe for my nieces, and a full blown staircase would use far too much space to be useful.

As for seedlings, I’m still planting tomatoes, mostly San Marzano and Amish Paste.

  1. April 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Hells, spiral stairs can be incredibly unsafe — the number of times I’ve seen people walk into the iron stairs, and I’ve also seen cousins fall down the stairs. The one only didn’t break his head because his shoulder got wedged between the bars — which I’m sure hurt like crazy as well.

    Why are ladders unsafe? I feel that they’be probably be safer because no one EXPECTS them to be safe. A spiral stair people expect to be safe, and it isn’t.

  2. April 8, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Dea;

    I’m going to build a small closet about 4 x 4 feet, with wood construction. In the center of the room there will be a wooden pillar, with the stairs wrapping around the pillar.

    Of course, I’m just now realizing that pull down stairs could work as well….

  3. May 10, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    I’m currently looking for some chicken coop plans. I never built one yet so I’m looking for some easy ones to hold like 3-4 chickens. Did you get your coop plans from somewhere or do you just have previous experience working on coops.

    Thanks,
    Zack

  4. Derren
    March 31, 2012 at 1:51 am

    Great plan, thanks a lot!

  5. April 11, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I’ve noticed a lot of traffic coming in looking for chicken coop plans, and I imagine this site isn’t quite as chicken coop related as you might have expected. Theres a good site here http://cheapchickencoopplans.com/ with plans for sale.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

