Home > Corn, People > Children in the Corn

Children in the Corn


Kids Goofing Off in the Corn

Kids Goofing Off in the Corn

In the past, I’ve always tried to keep the kids out of the garden, as they always seemed to step on my most prized plants. This year, I’ve taken on a new mindset: Kids should have fun in the garden, so when it was time to pick some corn, I knew just who to ask for help. They in turn decided that corn could not be picked with out some puppy power, and if you look close in these photos, you can see them.

Kids, Puppies and Corn

Kids, Puppies and Corn

Since the corn field has giant chunks of corn knocked over, the kids have been treating the area as a playground.  I’m hoping to teach the kids about healthy food, not by putting it on their plate, but instead by growing it all around them. They can select what is appealing to them, and I know they will eat well. I should note, the kids shown are my nieces and nephews.

The Lil Gardener

The Lil Gardener

Above is the Little Gardener. I had a hard time getting pictures of him because he loved treating the corn as a huge maze. When I finally tracked him down, he was smiling as usual.

Corn

Corn

After harvesting a garbage bag full of this wondrous food, I took it to my Mother’s home for her to freeze it. I though it was neat how the Blue Dent corn mixed with the corn next to it, which has me believe that the pollen for each kernel must be different, as there are three color’s shown.

Categories: Corn, People Tags:
  1. September 8, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Yes, every single piece of corn silk can be pollinated by a different parent plant, leading to individual kernels like this.

  2. September 9, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Does it wind up tasting different when eating that ear? I could see it being weird.

  3. September 9, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    I Loved the pictures of the corn maze! I think it is great that your kids are learning to respect and play with the nature. My little ones are still a trouble and whenever they get to my little garden they tend to pull everything out. This year was my first year of gardening and the garden didn’t do too well,so now my girls can play in it as much as they want to :-))
    I will definitely stick around your blog to pick up a few tips of gardening. I’ll need that next year.

  4. One
    September 13, 2010 at 6:19 am

    Wow! You have a corn farm? How wonderful! I have planted sweet corns from those seeds in a packet. Not very successful.

    Wonderful kids and pups you have there. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

