Home > People, Pigs > The other end of the farm…

The other end of the farm…


The other end of the Farm...

The other end of the Farm...

My brother George, who lives literally, on the other end of the farm. As I have been learning gardening, he has been learning how to raise pigs. He looks quite proud of his harvest, and I must say, home grown food always tastes better.

The food on the grill is from his efforts, but we don’t yet process the food ourselves. We still truck it to a local meat processor where professionals do the work.

Categories: People, Pigs
  1. January 30, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    When the wife and I lived in East Texas, we had an abundant supply of wild hogs. Because they are so destructive to farmers crops and timber farmers, residents are encouraged to hunt them year round. I typically would field dress the hogs and then take them to the processor who would mix in some farm raised pork fat with spices and make some great sausage. I usually would retain a few hams or shoulders which I would smoke in my smoker. I really like wild pork in the fall when they have been eating a lot of acorns. You do need to cook it special because it has almost no natural fat.

    Ted

  2. January 31, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Hi Ted;

    I’ve heard there is a problem with wild boars in Central Pa, I’ll have to ask my brother about it, but they too encourage year round hunting. I’ve heard the meat is different that domesticated pigs, I’d love to know how you cook them…..

    Thanks for checking out my blog;
    Jon

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

